Synology Data Scrubbing Setup Tutorial

This tutorial is going to take a look at Synology Data Scrubbing and why you MUST set it up.

First off, Synology Data Scrubbing is only available if you’re using the BTRFS file system. This is also the main reason why I only recommend devices supporting BTRFS. In its simplest form, the Synology data scrubbing process will check each “copy” of the data and if it’s not matching based on the checksum stored, it will correct the data. This process is mostly run to ensure that data that hasn’t been read in a while isn’t degrading and if it is, will fix it. For this reason, everyone who is running BTRFS must ensure that data scrubbing is periodically running.

With that said, there are downsides of data scrubbing, with the main issues being performance degradation and the overall duration of the data scrubbing process. For this reason, running monthly data scrubbing isn’t necessary, though it’s a good idea to run it quarterly or bi-annually at a minimum.

Please understand that the information above is greatly simplified to present the data scrubbing process is an easily understood manner.

1. Shared Folder Settings

When the data scrubbing process runs, it doesn’t automatically run on all shared folders. Instead, shared folders must be configured in a way that enables data checksum functionality.

When creating a shared folder, the enable data checksum for advanced data integrity option below must be enabled. If this option isn’t enabled, the data scrubbing process will not work for the specified shared folder.

synology data scrubbing

2. Confirming that Shared Folder’s have the correct settings

As mentioned above, if your existing Shared Folder’s don’t have the enable data checksum for advanced data integrity option enabled, the data scrubbing process will not work for that shared folder.

To confirm that the option is enabled, open the Control Panel, select Shared Folder, then expand one of the shared folders and confirm that Data Integrity Protection is Enabled.

synology data scrubbing2

You can also Edit the Shared Folder, select Advanced, then confirm that the checkbox next to Enable data checksum for advanced data integrity is enabled.

If the option is disabled, you will not be able to enable it for the existing shared folder. Instead, create a new shared folder with the option enabled and copy the existing data to that new shared folder.

synology data scrubbing3

3. Synology Data Scrubbing

Now that you’ve ensured that data scrubbing will work for your existing shared folders, you must ensure that a schedule is specified for data scrubbing to run on your Synology NAS.

1. Open the Storage Manager and select the Storage Pool that you have set up.

synology data scrubbing5

2. At the top, select Schedule Data Scrubbing and ensure that it’s enabled.

synology data scrubbing6

3. In the Frequency section, ensure that you’re running it at least every six months. I run mine every three months. At this page, you can also set certain times when you’d like the data scrubbing process to run.

synology data scrubbing7

3. If you’ve never run a data scrubbing process, it wouldn’t hurt to kick one off immediately. At the Storage Manager page, select Run Now next to Data Scrubbing.

synology data scrubbing8

4. Conclusion

As mentioned earlier, the Synology Data Scrubbing process will only work on shared folders that are properly configured. This process will protect against filesystem bit-rot and is a process that all Synology NAS owners using BTRFS should be running. There will certainly be a performance hit while the data scrubbing process is running, and depending on the size of your RAID array, it’s not out of the realm of possibility that the data scrubbing process will take 24-48 hours, but it’s a necessary insurance policy.

Thanks for checking out the tutorial on Synology Data Scrubbing. If you have any questions, feel free to leave them in the comments of the YouTube video!

Please share if this helped you!